News Archives

Spring 2010

Congratulations to undergraduates on their Spring 2010 graduation.

Jennifer McWhorter, Nichole Cardinale, Jeremy Pelletier and the Senior Seminar Graduates: From right to left, Joanna Kauffman, Borjana Lubura-Winchester, Ray Mangen, William O'Brien, Austin Coss, Leanna Borelli, Lauren Kleinsmith plus unknown.

Professor Giambelluca interviewed on Hawai`i Public Radio

Geography Department Professor Tom Giambelluca was interviewed on Hawai`i Public Radion on Thursday, April 1about his research on the impact of invasive plant species in Hawai`i. On April 6, 2010 Professor Giambelluca will be giving a lecture on this research in the "At the Park After Dark" lecture series at Volcanoes National Park on the big island. The HPR interview is here More information on the lecture is here.

Geog majors Hannah Cooper and Neil Abryani win URC summer research awards

Geography major Hannah Cooper was awarded a 2010 University Research Council summer research grant for her project entitled "Assessment of sea level rise using lidar data." The project, which is supervised by assistant professor Qi Chen, will assess the impacts of sea level rise on Honolulu’s economic center of Waikiki. The study will use high precision DEM (digital elevation model) obtained from LIDAR (light detection and ranging), an exciting state of the art remote sensing technology. Neil Abryani's project is supervised by assistant professor David Beilman and is entitled "Environmental Impacts of Deep Sea Water Air Conditioning."

Geography Majors Kauffman and Lubura-Winchester awarded spring 2010 Achievement Scholarships

The spring 2010 co-recipients of the Geography Achievement Scholarship are undergraduate majors Joanna Kauffman and Borjana Lubura-Winchester. These annual awards of approximately $1500 are given to outstanding department majors based on their GPA and academic achievement.

PhD student Lisa Wedding awarded 2010 NSF DDRI research grant

Geography department PhD student Lisa Wedding was awarded an National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement grant for her project entitled "Applying Bathymetric LiDAR data to advanced marine landscape ecology in the third dimension". The NSF DDRI award is extremely prestigious. Congratulations Lisa!

Fall 2009

PhD students Jack Kittinger and Nicole Milne receive NSF DDRI research grants

Department of Geography PhD students Jack Kittinger and Nicole Milne both received Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Awards from the National Science Foundation. Jack’s project is entitled “Historical ecology of coral reef ecosystems in the Hawaiian Archipelago". Nicole’s project is entitled “The remains of agriculture: a case study of landscape change in Hamakua, HI. “ The NSF DDRIs are competitive awards and extremely prestigious. Congratulations Jack and Nicole!

Congratulations to undergraduates Jason Hightower, Jesse Gibbon and Julius Paulo for their Fall 2009 graduation.

Assistant Professor Reece Jones elected to Political Geography Specialty Group executive committee

Department of Geography assistant professor Reece Jones was elected to the executive committee of the Political Geography Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers at the annual meeting in Las Vegas. More information is available at:

Assistant Professor Stacy Jørgensen awarded NSF research grant

Department of Geography Assistant Professor Stacy Jørgensen was awarded a collaborative research grant with James Speers of Indiana State University. from the National Science Foundation for research entitled “A Pilot Study of the Spatiotemporal Scales of Diversification in the Pandora Moth/Ponderosa Pine System Using Dendrochronology and Evolutionary Biogeography.”

Recent PhD Kamana Beamer and undergraduate Amerita Ravuvu win 2008-2009 departmental awards.

The Department of Geography awarded the H.J. Weins Memorial Award to Kamana Beamer who completed his doctorate in the summer semester of 2008. The award is given to a student who has graduated in the past academic year that has made the strongest contribution to research, teaching, and department life. Amerita Ravuvu was awarded the Department of Geography Undergraduate Award. It is given to a graduating undergraduate major who has demonstrated outstanding academic ability. Amerita is originally from Fiji and will be attending law school in Australia in the fall. Congratulations to Kamana and Amerita!

Amerita Ravuvu (Geography BA, 2009) recently received the Best Undergraduate Paper Award in Political Geography from the Association of American Geographers.


Her paper entitled "Fiji's Weak and Divided State: The Rhetoric of Ethnic Polarization in the Political Process" analyzed the coup-culture in Fiji over the almost forty years since the country's independence. She argued that elites represent the population as polarized on ethnic lines in order to justify coups that maintain their political power and their control over the territory. Congratulations Amerita!

Graduate students Sugato Dutt, Cedar Louis and Leandro Romero win awards at APCG conference


Three Geography Department graduate students won awards at the Association of Pacific Coast Geographers (APCG) conference, which was held in San Diego from 30 September - 03 October 2009.Ph.D. student Sugato Dutt won the Committee Award for Regional Geography for his paper entitled "Masked by the tiger: a study of rural livelihoods and conservation values in Northeast India". M.A. student Leandro Romero won the President's Award for Outstanding Paper by a Master's Student for his paper entitled "Adjudicating modern water under ancient rules: An instance of 'translation between two laws' in Kona, Oahu". Ph.D. student Cedar Louis won the Margaret Trussell Scholarship for dissertation research.